A Sparkly Introduction

Updated: Jun 2, 2018

Welcome to my blog. Here is a little bit about me, my interests and why I started. Enjoy!


Hey friends! I’m Amanda, but I prefer to be called Mandy by my friends and family. If you’re reading my blog, then you’re cool in my book and you can call me Mandy! I’m a 32 year old woman born and raised in New York. My parents are from Guyana, which is located in South America, just in case you were wondering what my ethnicity is. I live in Long Island, which is about 35 minutes away from the beautiful, unmatchable, New York City.


I have a master’s degree in healthcare administration, and I’m currently working in my field and I love it. However, I’m starting this blog because of my interests outside of work! I know you’re saying, “thank God.” I’ll talk a little about them, in no particular order…

I LOVE FOOD! Seriously, I can’t even tell you how happy a good meal makes me. It’s transcendent. I know that sounds extreme, but think about it. Food brings people together; it’s my favorite thing to do with my family, friends, and my boyfriend. I love trying different foods from different countries. The experience of discovering new cuisines captures my heart in an indescribable way.

Traveling has been one of my favorite things to do since I was a child, thanks to my parents. They have taken me and my brother on so many vacations, and we’ve seen a myriad of beautiful places. With my family and friends, I’ve been all over the Caribbean, Canada, and the states. I've also been to Spain and visited the beautiful Barcelona and the lively island of Ibiza. I’m also lucky enough to be with the love of my life that also enjoys traveling. He and I have been to Beijing, China, to see the Great Wall. We’ve traveled all over Thailand - stopping in Bangkok, Chiang Mai, and Phuket. Paris has also been a magical destination for us a couple of times. Dublin stole our hearts, the people are so nice! And last but not least, we’ve just come back from Italy. We’ve been all over that country – Venice, Florence, Rome & Positano. I’ll write about these trips more in depth, but I just wanted you to have an idea of where I’ve been!


Phang Nga Bay

I’m your everyday woman, even though I enjoy food, I drink my kale shakes every day and I work out 4-5 times a week (I have to at this age). I don’t know much about fashion or beauty – I’m not that kind of blogger, although I do admire and envy them for all of the patience they have to look that way! If I learn anything along the way, I’d love to share it! If I can do it, anyone can. Just to give you a sense of who I am, my ideal Friday night would consist of trying a new restaurant in NYC, and then going to a jazz club in the area or just staying in because I’m tired from the work week. My ideal Saturday afternoon is basically going to brunch (duh) and then a nice rooftop lounge after. I also love to do arts and crafts for fun.

I can’t wait to share my interests, adventures, travels, and foodie finds with you. Thanks for joining me!

130 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hey friends! It’s been a while. I hope that everyone is safe and doing well as we are going through this pandemic. If you or your family have been effected, I pray for your healing and comfort during